top of page

Living in competition with nature/introduction

I believe one of the biggest problems that humanity faces today is living in competition with nature. The way we build, industrialize, and live day to day is completely cut-off from nature. Massive cities all over the world are built in a way to shut out nature completely. Any part of it that manages to break through is viewed as a pest, or vermin. The entire city itself is dead when you really think about it. The earth that we normally walk on is covered over with concrete or asphalt. Concrete is horrible to walk on, and causes joint problems and pain. The houses we live in are constructed from things that are derived from nature in an often horrible way. These things are altered from their normal state of being, and whether concrete, lumber, or metal, they all seek their original form. This causes us to have to take constant care and work to maintain or homes. We work so hard to keep them almost hermetically sealed off from any outside intrusion, and are terrified when anything gets inside. We spend all of our time within the city, and then wonder why we are depressed, and sick all the time, and unhappy. We look at pictures of nature, and fantasize about beautiful places we hope to visit and vacation at someday.

There are so many problems we face in our modern day lives. This blog is going to be an open format; there are many things I wish to talk about and help people become aware of. There are far too many people pointing fingers, and complaining without offering any advice or solutions to the very problems we face. That does absolutely nothing to help, It does serve the purpose of educating people who may be ignorant of things, but there is a severe lack of people offering solutions. I don't think myself intelligent enough to tackle the problems we face as a race, but I hope that some things may spark the minds of someone far more intelligent. If enough of us focus on things, and change our own lives for the better, the collective unconsciousness will shift, and things will start to change.

Mines that lay waste to eco-systems, and lumber mills that deforest entire areas are common in many parts of the world. While methods that work in harmony with nature and lessen the impact we make are ignored or even illegal. One of these, the growing and use of hemp, I will discuss in detail at a later date. Many of us sit by and blame big industry and business and the elite (I have been guilty of this many times in the past). Yet we see around the change that we are capable of. Businesses like McDonalds and Wal-Mart continue to grow weak and other forward thinking responsible business thrive. We see that it is possible for all of us to change things for the better.

My wife and I are committed to living life a better way. We are trying to get closer to the roots of humanity, and live life in a balanced way. What I mean by that is that we are seeking a balance between the new understandings, and wisdom and beliefs that have been around for millennia in some cases. New isn't always better, or wiser. There are fundamental truths that stay the same through-out time. There are others that change with our growing understanding. Some of the truths we have held dear in the past are now viewed as revolting in some cases. In many ways, that is what this blog site will be overall. As I progress as a person, so it will too. I will also use this to showcase some of my writing endeavors as well. I have two full length novels in the works, that I am currently fine tuning and finishing up. I will self publish them later this year, and will share links as they become available on various platforms. I will have recurring themes, for those of you that enjoy specific things or topics, as well as random bits here and there. I intend to come out with fresh content fairly often, so stick around. If there isn't something you like now, then there most likely will be in the future. Back to the topic then.

It's very easy to feel overwhelmed and alone at times. That is something I struggle with when it comes to the issues we face as humanity. It's hard to actively think about things that many facets of society ignore or aren't aware of. My wife Cc suggested that I start this blog site as an outlet. I hope that It will enable me to find other like minded ones, who will further my understanding and wisdom. I try to keep an open mind, and adjust my viewpoints accordingly. That being said, as I go further down this path my viewpoints will change in many ways I am sure. I may retract on some of my earlier opinions and attitudes. That is good when done in a positive way, in progression, not regression. Our very existence is change, and it is something we should embrace. I began discussing some problems we face, and I will try to present some solutions that we can try on a personal level. These are truths that I have found, and I come to these and continue to find them by reading others opinions and viewpoints. Sometimes even ones I don't agree with solidify my own beliefs. Thank you so much for reading, and I am very excited to continue this journey into the unknown.


bottom of page